New North Workplace Excellence Award

people practices driving business results

The New North Workplace Excellence Award is presented by New North, Inc. and Keystone Partners to organizations located within the 18-county New North region. The award recognizes organizations that improve their competitive advantage through people practices that lead to successful business results.


  • Orientation & Assimilation
  • Recruitment, Selection & Retention
  • Culture Management
  • Alignment & Engagement
  • Development/Performance Management
  • Employee Communication
  • Succession/Knowledge Transfer
  • Exit (Retirement or Outplacement)



  • Savings: Financial & Cost Efficiencies
  • Growth: Financial & Customer Growth
  • Increased Profitability

Organizations located within the 18-county New North region are eligible to apply. This includes companies that have a division or location within the New North, but are not necessarily headquartered in the New North.

The 18 counties include: Brown, Calumet, Door, Florence, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Marquette, Menominee, Oconto, Outagamie, Shawano, Sheboygan, Waupaca, Waushara, and Winnebago.

The New North Workplace Excellence Award application process will consist of three phases:

Phase I                Organizations complete brief statement of consideration (500 words or less). Download Form HERE.

Phase II               Organizations meeting Phase I requirements will be notified and invited to submit a detailed application.

Phase III              Organizations meeting Phase II requirements will become finalists and a site visit will be conducted by members of the judges committee to select winner(s).

Important Dates and Information*
  • Oct. 6, 2023    Phase 1 responses due by 5 p.m. CDT.
  • Oct. 27, 2023  Organizations moving onto Phase 2 will be notified.
  • Jan. 26, 2024  Phase 2 applications due by 5:00PM CDT.
  • Feb. 16, 2024  Phase 3 finalists notified and site visits are scheduled during March and early April 2024.


2023 New North Workplace Excellence Award Winners

Two companies with operations within the 18-county New North region – CLA (CliftonLarsonAllen LLP) and Wisconsin Aluminum Foundry – have been named as winners of the 2023 New North Workplace Excellence Award. Selected from nominated companies through a multi-phase evaluation process, representatives of the two firms were presented the award at the New North Summit, held June 8 at Lambeau Field in Green Bay.

The honor recognizes organizations in the region that are improving their competitive advantage through people practices which lead to successful business outcomes. Award submissions were evaluated on two primary criteria: People Practices and Business Practices. The Workplace Excellence Award is a collaboration between New North Inc. and Keystone Partners.

“The innovative people and business practices of CLA and Wisconsin Aluminum Foundry shined through during the evaluations of the judging committee. We are excited to present both with the 2023 New North Workplace Excellence Award,” says Barb LaMue, president and CEO of New North Inc. “Their individual approaches to solving current workforce challenges have resulted in increased business success, along with enhanced diversity and inclusion.”

CLA (CliftonLarsonAllen LLP) is among the nation’s leading professional services firms, providing industry-focused wealth advisory, digital, audit, tax, consulting, and outsourcing services. It has 130 U.S. locations, including six within the New North, and employs 375 people in the region among its 8,500 total employees. The CLA Promise is to know you and to help you, putting client relationships first to ensure its professionals are connected to the clients and businesses they serve.

Wisconsin Aluminum Foundry (WAF), headquartered in Manitowoc and in existence for 114 years, employs 780 people. Its self-described niche within the manufacturing space is to deliver high-quality, complex custom castings on ultra-short lead times.

As part of the company’s growth strategy, Wisconsin Aluminum Foundry developed a dedicated training center, paired with a bilingual curriculum, to ensure consistent orientation, assimilation and training. A trainer whose only focus was new employees removed this role from in-place production workers, allowing them to concentrate on their primary responsibilities, improving both output and morale. The trainer is able to observe trainees, providing direction and evaluation as they complete work tasks.

Read Full Release HERE

Past Award Recipients:

  • CLA (Clifton Larson Allen) & Wisconsin Aluminum Foundry
  • J.F. Ahern Co.
  • Wipfli
  • Integrity Insurance
  • Schneider
  • American Transmission Company
  • Expera Specialty Solutions
  • Werner Electric
  • Foth
  • Oshkosh Corporation
  • US Venture, Inc.
  • ThedaCare
  • Miller Electric Mfg. Co.
  • Bassett Mechanical
  • Hoffman LLC
  • J. J. Keller & Associates
  • Nicolet Plastics
  • Mid-States Aluminum Corporation
  • Skyline Technologies
  • Tank Technology
  • Holy Family Memorial, Inc.
  • Schneider National, Inc.
  • Goodwill Industries of North Central WI, Inc.
  • McCain Foods USA, Inc.
  • Miles Kimball Company

Special thank you to our top investors. For a full list of New North investors, go to Our Investors