Three prominent regional educators named to New North board of directors

Posted June 22, 2020

Three prominent regional educators named to New North board of directors

Alexander, Carlsen and Matheny bring representation from UWGB, LTC and FVTC

NEW NORTH, June 22, 2020 – Three prominent regional educators – Dr. Michael Alexander of the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, Dr. Paul Carlsen of Lakeshore Technical College and Dr. Christopher Matheny of Fox Valley Technical College – have been named to the board of directors of New North Inc., Vicki Updike, New North co-chair and chair of the board development committee, announced.

Matheny assumes the board position of Dr. Susan May, president of FVTC, who has served on the New North board of directors and executive committee since 2016.

“We are pleased to welcome this strong team of educators from across the region to the New North board of directors,” says Updike. “Their informed perspective on talent development will be a great complement to the corporate members of the board.

“We also would like to sincerely thank Dr. May for her valuable contributions to New North over the past four years. She will be missed.”

Dr. Michael Alexander began as the seventh chancellor in the history of the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay on May 1, 2020. UWGB is a comprehensive public institution offering undergraduate, graduate and doctoral programs to more than 8,700 students with campus locations in Green Bay, Marinette, Manitowoc and Sheboygan. He had first joined the university a year earlier as provost and vice chancellor of academic affairs. The prior four years, Alexander had been the director of the School of Music at the University of Northern Colorado. He also has served as the director of orchestral activities at Kennesaw State University for 11 years. Alexander holds a bachelor’s degree in musical education from the University of Georgia, a master’s degree in instrumental conducting from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and a doctorate in musical arts from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Dr. Paul Carlsen has been president of Lakeshore Technical College since July 2017. He leads a team of more than 400 that provide technical education to nearly 11,000 students over 70 customized career programs each year. Prior to joining LTC, Carlsen held several leadership roles at the Louisiana Community and Technical College System, along with being an adjunct instructor of American Government at River Parishes Community College. He also has served in economic and workforce development roles at Louisiana Economic Development and the South Carolina Department of Commerce. Carlsen holds a bachelor’s degree in political science from the University of Colorado, a Master of Public Policy degree from the University of Denver and a doctorate in philosophy from the University of Georgia. In 2020, the Aspen Institute selected him as New President Fellow.

Dr. Christopher Matheny has been executive vice president and chief academic officer at Fox Valley Technical College since January 2010. His responsibilities include academic administration of all instructional area divisions, student services, global education & services, business & industry services, college marketing, regional campuses & centers, K-12 partnerships, diversity & inclusion services, and the Center for Instructional Excellence. Manthey first joined FVTC in 2004 as vice president of student services and was promoted to vice president for student & community development in June 2008. He also previously has held student services roles at the Illinois Institute of Technology. Matheny holds a bachelor’s degree in psychology from DePaul University, a Master of Business Administration degree from Illinois Institute of Technology and a Ph.D. in educational leadership and policy analysis from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.


# # #


New North, Inc., is a 501(c)3 non-profit, regional marketing and economic development corporation fostering collaboration among private and public sector leaders throughout the 18 counties of Northeast Wisconsin, known as the New North region. The New North brand unites the region both internally and externally around talent development, brand promotion and business development, signifying the collective economic power behind the 18 counties. The counties include Outagamie, Winnebago, Calumet, Waupaca, Brown, Shawano, Oconto, Marinette, Door, Kewaunee, Sheboygan, Manitowoc, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Marquette, Florence, Menominee and Waushara. To find out more information about New North, Inc., please visit our website at


Download Press Release

Special thank you to our top investors. For a full list of New North investors, go to Our Investors